Return to Port Agnes: A Cornish Midwives’ novel

Return to Port Agnes is the first in The Cornish Midwives series of novels

The last thing Ella Mehenick wants is the fifteen minutes of fame she’s found herself landed with. After all, who wants to star in a viral video of the very public ending of their relationship?

Newly single, and desperate to get as far away from her former fiancé as possible, Ella heads back to the Cornish seaside town of Port Agnes, where she grew up.

Working as a community midwife keeps her busy and, even if some of the locals seem to have an unhealthy fascination with the breakdown of her relationship, the other midwives soon make her feel like one of the team. Despite her disastrous dating history, Ella manages to play matchmaker to her new best friend and even dodges her parents’ attempts to get her to settle down with the boy next door.

Her only problem is Dan Ferguson, who seems hell bent on destroying a local landmark, which will tear the heart out of Port Agnes. When Dan turns out to be the one person who can help Ella, after a high risk pregnancy puts a patient in danger, she discovers he’s not the man she thought he was. But getting to know the real Dan is not as easy as she’d like it to be…

Someone in Port Agnes is determined not to let her move on from the past and will stop at nothing to make sure no-one forgets why Ella is back in town, even if that means breaking the law.

Will she ever be allowed to enjoy her return to Port Agnes, or are some things just impossible to leave behind?

“Perfect for fans of Call The Midwife, Doc Martin and Where The Heart is” – Sharon Booth, best-selling author of the Bramblewick, Kearton Bay and Skimmerdale series.